Trinbago Red Force, Jamaica score victories in Lauderhill T20

The Trinbago Red Force and Jamaica returned to winning ways in the Lauderhill T20 night cricket tournament at the Lauderhill Park on Saturday night.

The Red Force handed Combined Islands their first loss while defending champions Jamaica kept their unbeaten streak intact with a comprehensive six wicket win over India, guaranteeing themselves a playoff spot in the process.

In the opening encounter the Trinbago Red Force scored  an impressive  to 193 for 4 in the allotted 20 overs with former USA National representative Timothy Surajbally slamming 52 including seven fours and two sixes. Neil Mungal scored with 28 while Jason Holder got 27 and Ken Singh 26. Bowling for the Combined Islands N. Thomas claimed 1 for 20, D. Brathwaite 1 for 33, P. Davis 1 for 37 and G. White 1 for 43.

In reply, Combined Islands were dismissed for 107 in 18 overs with Joey Pierre top scoring with 15 not out.  G. White chipped in with 14. while A. Scott and R. Forbes both scored 13. Bowling for Trinbago Red Force, K. Khan was the wrecker-in-chief claiming 5 for 13 and S. Babula bagging 3 for 19.

Jamaica, registered their fourth consecutive victory after winning the toss and electing to take first strike, the Jamaicans piled up 246 for 5 with Omari Williams and Danza Hyatt entertaining the large crowd at the Lauderhill Sports Park. Williams shared two successive half century partnerships, putting on 72 with fellow opener Steven Taylor (35) and former Jamaica and West Indies player Hyatt. Williams ended on 85 from 52 balls including nine fours and four sixes while Hyatt smashed 80 from 36 balls laced with three fours and nine huge sixes. Bowling for India, P. Shetty claimed 2 for 50 and P. Pareekh 1 for 25.

In reply, the Indian batsmen scratched around against the Jamaican bowlers and ended on 102 in 16.5 overs. Batting for India, D. Persaud scored 25 whilst V. Dokur got 19 and A. Pareekh 18. Bowling for Jamaica, game MVP Omari Williams bagged 3 for 20, E. Watson 2 for 16 and H. Johnson snared 2 for 20.

The tournament continues on Saturday, April 18, 2017 starting at 5pm with Barbados All-Stars v. Pakistan follow by Jamaica v. Combined Islands at 8:00pm. All matches are played at the Lauderhill Sports Park




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here