Prime Minister of St Lucia Unveils New Cabinet

st lucia philip_pierre

Prime Minister of St Lucia, Phillip J. Pierre on Thursday unveiled a 13-member Cabinet that included Stephenson King, a former senior member of the last government, who quit to contest the July 26 general elections as an independent candidate.

In addition, Pierre also announced that another former independent candidate, Richard Frederick, who was booted out of the now opposition United Workers Party (UWP) would be part of his administration and urged St. Lucians to “journey with us on this exciting journey to improve the quality of life of the people of St Lucia.

“It is a task that together we can achieve. Our government will listen to the people and we will always put them first,” Pierre told the ceremony that was also attended by Antigua and Barbuda Prime Minister Gaston Browne.

Pierre also told the swearing-in ceremony that former prime minister Dr. Kenny Anthony, 70, had turned down an invitation to join the government as a senior minister with a portfolio “that would interest him” because of pending surgery and outstanding legal affairs, but would reconsider another approach in six months’ time.

Regarding the appointment of King, who served as the island’s prime minister from 2007-2011 and Frederick, an attorney, who also served in a previous UWP administration, Prime Minister Pierre said that he had to take into consideration the role they played during the campaign in “helping the St Lucia Labour Party (SLP) secure an overwhelming victory at the recent general elections.”

He said that his administration is aware of what it will take to make life better for the citizens, “in these unprecedented difficult times to stay true to our promises.

The following is the list of the members of the new St Lucia government Cabinet.

  1. Phillip J. Pierre – Prime Minister, Minister of Finance, Economic Development and the Youth Economy.
  2. Ernest Hilaire -Minister for Tourism, Investment, Creative Industries, Culture and Information.
  3. Moses Jn. Baptiste – Minister for Health, Wellness and Elderly Affairs.
  4. Shawn A. Edward – Minister for Education, Sustainable Development, Innovation, Science, Technology and Vocational Training.
  5. Alva Romanus Baptiste -Minister for External Affairs, International Trade, Civil Aviation and Diaspora Affairs.
  6. Stephenson King -Senior Minister and Minister for Infrastructure, Ports, Transport, Physical Development and Urban Renewal.
  7. Emma Hippolyte -Minister for Commerce, Manufacturing, Business Development, Cooperatives and Consumer Affairs.
  8. Joachim Andre Henry -Minister for Equity, Social Justice and People’s Empowerment.
  9. Virginia Albert-Poyotte -Minister for the Public Service, Home Affairs, Labour and Gender Affairs.
  10. Kenson Joel Casimir – Minister for Youth Development and Sports.
  11. Alfred Prospere – Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries, Food Security and Rural Development.
  12. Wayne D. Girard -Minister in the Ministry of Finance, Economic Development and Youth Economy.
  13. Richard Frederick – Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister with responsibility for Housing and Local Government.


Dr. Pauline Antoine-Prospere – Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education, Sustainable Development, Innovation, Science, Technology and Vocational Training.

Guibion Ferdinand – Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Tourism, Investment, Creative Industries, Culture and Information.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here