Commissioners Diaz and Gilbert Elected as Miami-Dade County Commission Chairman and Vice Chairman

The Miami-Dade County Commission on Nov. 19 unanimously elected Commissioner Jose “Pepe” Diaz as the Commission’s next Chairman and Oliver G. Gilbert III as the next Vice-Chairman.

Their two-year term as Chairman and Vice-Chairman will begin on Jan. 1, 2021.

Commissioner Diaz has served on the Commission since 2002 and also served as Commission Vice Chairman from 2009-10. Prior to joining the County Commission this month, Commissioner Gilbert served as Mayor of Miami Gardens for eight years.

- Advertisement -

“I’m extremely honored and humbled to be selected as chair-elect to lead this commission for the next two years. I want to thank my colleagues for their confidence and entrusting me with this extremely important position. I know we are going through some very trying times, but I’m confident that working together, staying united and speaking with one voice, we will come out stronger than ever for the betterment of our community,” Commissioner Diaz said.

“I look forward to working with each one of you, along with the Mayor and the administration, to make the next two years the best they can be for our residents. Once again, thank you!”

Commissioner Diaz will serve as the Commission’s presiding officer for the remainder of this year whenever acting Chairwoman Rebeca Sosa is not available.

“How we move forward is the charge and mission of the Commission,” Commissioner Gilbert said. “I’m honored to be chosen and excited to serve as Vice-Chair. I’m ready to get to work moving the county forward.”



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here