One United Bank president and BB&T regional president will receive top honors at the BOMA Awards, Miami, FL.


The Black Owned Media Alliance is excited to announce the 2018 BOMA Awards. The BOMA awards was established to honor agencies, businesses, and individuals who make a positive impact in the South Florida Black community. This year the ceremony will be on Thursday, September 20, 2018 at 11:30 a.m. at the Hilton Miami Airport, 5101 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, FL 33126. 

Top honors

The top honors for 2018 will go to Teri Williams, President of OneUnited Bank and Tony Coley, Regional President South Florida of BB&T Bank. They will both be honored for their commitment to go above and beyond the call to support and advocate for equality in the media and support for the South Florida Black community. They will receive the BOMA CHAMPION OF THE YEAR AWARD.

- Advertisement -

Teri Williams

As President of OneUnited Bank, the largest Black owned bank in the country, Teri Williams is responsible for the implementation of the Bank’s strategic initiatives, as well as the day to day operations of the bank, including all retail branches, marketing, compliance, lending, information technology, customer support, legal, and human resources.

Tony Coley

Tony Coley was named Regional President of BB&T Central Florida in April 2012. Prior to this promotion, Tony was the City Executive for BB&T Broward County and President & CEO of Colonial Bank South Florida. Tony is a graduate of the University of Miami, where he earned a Bachelor of Science degree. Tony was a starting linebacker on the University of Miami football team.

Bernadette Morris

Bernadette Morris, Founder and chairman of Sonshine Communications, a full service public relations, marketing and advertising agency will receive the BOMA ICON OF THE YEAR AWARD. The firm is one of the most successful Black-owned PR agencies in America. Sonshine has a creative team of professional writers, talented graphic and multimedia designers, savvy media buyers and top-notch marketing experts.


Publix will receive the BOMA ADVOCATE OF THE YEAR AWARD. The mission at Publix is to be the premier quality food retailer in the world. Publix has five commitments: Passionately focused on customer value; Intolerant of waste; dedicated to the dignity, value and employment security of our associates; devoted to the highest standards of stewardship for our stockholders; and involved as responsible citizens in our communities.

Island TV

Island TV, will receive the BOMA LEGEND OF THE YEAR AWARD. Island TV is now a 24-hour network, broadcasting 24/7 in Florida, the Bahamas, Turks & Caicos, Martinique, Guadeloupe, St Lucia, and Haiti! Programs are produced in either English, Creole, or French, making us a very versatile and inclusive station. With 24 hours of programming covering news, concerts, entertainment, politics, and talk shows, Island TV gives its viewers a refreshing new perspective on the Haitian and Caribbean culture.

Sandy Walker

Sandy Walker, publisher of The Gospel Truth, will receive the BOMA VANGUARD OF THE YEAR AWARD. The Gospel Truth publishing company takes great pride in creating resources that impart uplifting information to readers. The Gospel Truth magazine is a publication that churches identify as “their magazine” and actively distribute it to their members. This commitment has resulted in an unprecedented distribution system that is of great benefit to advertisers and participating churches.

Peter Webley

Peter Webley, publisher of Caribbean Today, will receive the BOMA VISIONARY OF THE YEAR AWARD. Peter launched Caribbean Today News Magazine in 1989 providing news and features with local and regional correspondents as well as international wire news services. The two main target groups of Caribbean Today are the North American business and tourist person and the upscale Caribbean-born, residing in North America or in the region.

Dr. E; Lance MCarthy

The BOMA LUMINARY OF THE YEAR AWARD goes to Dr. E. Lance McCarthy. Dr. E. Lance McCarthy is a nationally recognized Faith Based Economist and Investment Advisor, with a specialty in urban development. Dr. McCarthy has assisted non-profit organizations, churches, corporations, professional athletes and cities with economic development and financing plans. His public policy research, Fortune 100 experience, entrepreneurial endeavors and non-profit initiatives give him insight into our nation’s most pressing problems.

The remaining category ballots for the 2018 nominees for the BOMA Awards are:

Marketing Firm of the Year Award – Circle of One Marketing, Hip Rock Star Advertising, Marketing & Communications, and Stephanie Creates.

PR Firm of the Year Award – Freeze Frame Marketing, Harris PR, and Sophia Nelson

Advertising Agency of the Year Award – CCOM Group Inc., Media Counselors, and WOW Factor.

Black Advertisement Agency of the Year Award – Circle of One Marketing, Hip Rock Star Advertising, Marketing & Communications, and Mosaic.

Best Communicator of the Year TV Award – Calibe Thompson (Blondie Ras Productions, Inc.), Jeremy “Chaos” Hannah (Video Mix), and Patrick Eliancy (Island TV).

Best Communicator of the Year Radio Award – Eddie Edwards (Riddins Marketing), Henry Crespo (The Development Firm), and Lynda Harris (Financial).

Best Communicator of the Year Print Award – Andrea Robinson (The Miami Times), Gordon Williams (Caribbean Today), and Russel Motley (MIA Media Group).

Best Communicator of the Year Digital Award – Courtney Mckenzie Newell (Crown Public Relations), Peter Bailey (NiteCap), and Tracy Timberlake (Timberlake Ventures).

Best Social Media Communicator of the Year Award – Andre Kay (Sociallybuzz), LaShannon Petit (PRPL), and LaToya Stirrup.

Photo/Video Journalist of the Year Award – Adrian Freeman, Andre Williams, and David Muir.

BOMA Rising Star Award – Arri Henry (The Westside Gazette), Juanita Bethel Jones (Jali Creatives), and Kiana Clark (Forward Public Relations).


The Black Owned Media Alliance (BOMA) was established in the summer of 2015 by Dexter A. Bridgeman (MIA Magazine) in collaboration with Tony Lesesne, Woodie Lesesne (Lesesne Media Group), Jessica Garrett Modkins (Hip Rock Star Advertising and, Garth Reeves (The Miami Times), Debra Toomer (WMBM), Sandy Walker (The Gospel Truth), and Peter Webley (Caribbean Today) to bond forces of common interest for the promotion, development, longevity, empowerment, and financial stability of Black owned media in South Florida. Additionally, BOMA is committed to accuracy in reporting while providing the market we serve with fair and balanced coverage.

The objective of ther organization is to address the disparity that exists in advertisement spending with Black Owned Media. There must be a fair and balanced approach for the dissemination of advertising dollars to Black owned media in South Florida and to create awareness among the advertising community of the spending power of the Black dollar in South Florida.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here