Winning T20 World Cup Team to Get US$1.6 million

t20 world cup cricket
Sri Lanka's Binura Fernando is bowled out by England's Liam Livingstone, not pictured, during the third T20 international cricket match between England and Sri Lanka at The Ageas Bowl in Southampton, England, Saturday, June 26, 2021. (AP Photo/Matt Dunham)

The winners of the 2021 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, in which the West Indies are defending champions, will be awarded US$1.6 million while the runners-up will take home US$800,000, the ICC announced Sunday.

The two losing semi-finalists will be rewarded a prize of US$400,000 each. Overall, a sum of US$5.6 million will be allocated for the tournament which will be shared by the 16 participating teams.

The ICC said it will also continue to award a bonus amount for every win during the Super 12 stage of the tournament, as was the case during the 2016 edition of the tournament. The victors during all the 30 matches during the Super 12 stage will take home an amount of US $40,000 — amounting to a total pot of US $1.2 million.

- Advertisement -

The teams which get knocked out in the Super 12 stage will be awarded US$70,000 each, amounting to a total sum of US $560,000.

The same set-up is in place to reward teams during their Round 1 victories, where again, they will be rewarded US$40,000 during the 12 matches during the stage, totaling US$480,000. The four teams which get knocked out during round one will get US$40,000 each from an overall prize pool of US$160,000.

The eight teams participating in Round 1 will are Bangladesh, Ireland, Namibia, Netherlands, Oman, Papua New Guinea, Scotland and Sri Lanka.

Meanwhile, Afghanistan, Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa and West Indies are the eight confirmed teams for the Super 12 stage of the tournament in the UAE and Oman.

Apart from the prize money for the 2021 edition of the tournament, the ICC also announced a drinks break which will take place during each and every match. The duration of the break will of 2 minutes and 30 seconds and will take place during the halfway mark of each innings.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here