Openers steer Guyana to easy win in Lauderhill T20

Team Guyana wins second consecutive match

Team Guyana’s bowlers led the team to its second, consecutive victory against Trinidad and Tobago this past weekend at the 2016 City of Lauderhill T20 Int’l Night Cricket Tournament, held at the Lauderhill Sports Park.

Winning the toss and electing to bat first, Team Trinidad and Tobago was evenly poised at 36 runs for 2 wickets, before the Guyanese bowlers took over on track that provided some bounce and pace. Neil Mungal 19, Timothy Surujbally 13 and Parvish Deonarinesing 13 offer some resistance, becoming the only players to score double digits. But bowling for Guyana proved too overwhelming, with Imran Saddiq as the main destroyer, claiming 3 for 14 from his allotted four overs. Veteran Richard Louis, playing for his adopted team, bagged 2 for 16 and Vickram Ramoutar 1 for 9. Trinidad and Tobago eventually walked away with 83 for 8 wickets at the end of 20 overs.

In reply, Guyana scored 84 runs without loss at the end of 11 overs, recording its second victory with all 10 wickets. Guyana’s batting charge was led by an unbroken 84 runs opening partnership between Simeon Pierre and Sameer Khan. Pierre smashed 34 runs, including three fours and one six, while Khan followed closely with 33. The Trinidadian conceded 17 extras towards Guyana’s total.

Team Jamaica and Combined Islands were hoping to take their turn on the pitch for game 6, but early morning showers left the outfield at the Lauderhill Sports Park unplayable for the start of the 5 p.m. scheduled game. Jamaica and Combined Islands, the only two winless teams in the competition, will each receive two points for the abandoned game. Meanwhile, Guyana and India remain the two unbeaten teams in the tournament, currently standing at the top of the tournament rankings with 10 points each.

There are no games schedule for this weekend due to the Easter Weekend. The tournament will continue on Saturday, April 2, 2016 starting at 5p.m. at the Lauderhill Sports Park, with India v. Guyana, followed by Pakistan v. Combined Islands at 8 p.m.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here