Caribbean Bar Association (CBA) hails its finest

The Caribbean Bar Association (CBA) held its 21st annual Scholarship and Awards Gala on October 28 at the Conrad Hotel in Miami. Its theme, “Servant Leadership: We Rise by Lifting Others”.

The event is main fundraiser for the CBA’s Scholarship Program. It takes care of judicial and public service internships for law students in Miami-Dade and Broward counties.

Three scholarship recipients

- Advertisement -

This year, Aaron Beharie and Garry Louima, students at FAMU School of Law, and Rebecca Miranda, a student at Florida Coastal School of Law, were scholarship recipients.

The CBA also honored Juliet Roulhac, Esq., Regional Manager for Corporate External Affairs, Florida Power & Light Co.; Hamilton, Miller & Birthisel, LLP; and Javier A. Soto, Esq., President & CEO of The Miami Foundation, for their contributions to the Caribbean community.

Keynote address

Keynote address was delivered by George F. Knox. Jr., Esq., who challenged attendees to foster social change and experience humanity more fully, by making the conscious decision to put others needs before their own.

Patrons participated in a raffle that offered a variety of prizes.

Proceeds will be donated to hurricane relief efforts in the Caribbean through Food for The Poor, Inc.

The event was attended by judges, attorneys, elected officials and community leaders who live in Florida.

There was entertainment by cellist Guy Michel, singer Halle-Rae Dougall and DJ Dorenzo.

The Honorable Judge Fabienne E. Fahnestock, 17th Judicial Circuit (Broward County), swore in the Caribbean Bar Association’s 2017-2018 executive board. The board includes:

New CBA Board

Niyala A. Harrison, president –  Public and Corporate Finance Attorney at Squire Patton Boggs (US) LLP in Miami; Charise A. Morgan-Joseph, president-elect, Litigation Associate, The Joseph Law Firm, P.A. in Miami; Serena Witter, vice-president – Senior Associate at

Robert Allen Law in Miami; Anna-Bo Emmanuel, treasurer-Staff Attorney at Legal Services of Greater Miami; Tricia-Gaye Cotterell, secretary-Litigation Associate at Kim Vaughan Lerner, LLP in Fort Lauderdale; Hillary Creary, board member – Partner at Benjamin-Wise Creary, PLLC in Pompano Beach; Nikeisha Pryor, board member – Commercial Litigation Associate at Haliczer Pettis & Schwamm, P.A. in Fort Lauderdale; Jamel Marshall, board member – Assistant State Attorney, 17th Judicial Circuit of Florida; Devona A. Reynolds Perez, immediate past president – General Counsel of Cruise Planners in Coral Springs. Based in Miami, the Caribbean Bar Association was founded in 1994. It has over 200 members.

To see the winners of the CBA’s 2016 scholarship awardees, click the link: Caribbean Bar Association announces Scholarship winners

Other Articles

Latest Articles

Skip to content