With a look at some of the top stories making the news today, July 1 across your Caribbean-American community in South Florida, I’m…for CNW 90.

Today’s newscast is brought to you by the Florida Department of Health;

To help stop the spread of COVID-19, The Florida Department of Health in Broward County reminds everyone to practice social distancing, wash your hands often with soap and water and cover your nose and mouth with a tissue or sleeve when coughing or sneezing.

- Advertisement -

Coming up in the newscast, the European Union bans American travelers, Broward and Monroe counties close beaches this weekend and Jamaica announce that all Floridians must be tested before coming to the island.

Now for the news in the detail

The European Union governments have extended a travel ban for American residents, deeming that the county’s response to COVID-19 is not sufficient enough to allow its residents to travel to Europe. The ban, which will reviewed after two weeks, only makes allowances for travelers with an essential function including health care workers and diplomats. Other countries on the travel ban list include Canada, Australia, Japan and South Korea, among others. The United States had issued its own travel ban on European Union member countries back in March.

Locally, the leaders of Monroe and Broward Counties have followed the path taken by Miami-Dade, in closing the counties beaches for the fourth of July weekend. Monroe County announced that all county-owned parks and beaches will be closed beginning at 5 p.m. on Thursday and will reopen at normal operating hours on Tuesday, July 7. Broward’s beaches, on the other hand, will be closed from Friday through to Sunday, July 5.

Also for July 4th, the annual Fort Lauderdale Independence Day Celebration will feature smaller fireworks shows in four areas of the City: Holiday Park, City Hall, Carter Park and the Beach Community Center. The shows will not be open to spectators and no pedestrians or vehicles will be allowed access to the areas where the shows are located.

In Caribbean News, Visitors traveling to Jamaica from Florida and other states in America are now required to pretest for COVID-19 before arrival on the island as of today. The announcement was made by Prime Minister Andrew Holness earlier this week, just two weeks after the island reopened its borders. The pre-requisite for entry applies to individuals coming from Florida, New York, Arizona, and Texas. Visitors must upload their test results to the Visit Jamaica portal and the results should be no older than 7 days. Prime Minister Holness clarified however that negative test results do not mean automatic approval for entering the island.

For more information on these and other stories, visit Remember to pick up this week’s copy of our Caribbean National Weekly at your nearest Caribbean – American outlet.

You’ve been watching CNW90, I’m…