USA Crowned Champions of the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup

Via @FIFAWWC Twitter

LYON, France – The United States are the champions of the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup after defeating the Netherlands 2-0 in France on Sunday, July 7.

In the final match of the tournament played at the Lyon Olympic Stadium, The USA team secured their fourth Women’s World Cup title and second in a row when Megan Rapinoe converted a penalty kick in the second half and Rose Lavelle added a goal.

Rapinoe, the pink-haired U.S. captain who has caught the world’s attention both on and off the field, has been dubbed a superstar by her teammates, and the rest of the world.

- Advertisement -

Rapinoe drew the ire of U.S. President Donald Trump during the tournament by saying she and teammates would refuse to visit the White House, part of the team’s wider push for gender equity. At the final whistle that officially announced USA’s win on Sunday night, many fans dressed in American flag colors, chanted Equal Pay!”.

Throughout this World Cup, the top-ranked U.S. women had a lead going into halftime of every match they played. They had never been held scoreless in the first half. In the finals against the Netherlands, it took an hour of game time before Rapinoe broke the scoreless tie for the U.S. on a penalty kick.

“It’s surreal. I don’t know how to feel like now. It’s ridiculous,” Rapinoe said after the victory. “We’re crazy and that’s what makes us so special. We just have no quit in us. We’re so tight, and we’ll do anything to win.” Rapinoe was awarded the Golden Ball and Golden Boot as the top player in the tournament. The Silver Boot went to Alex Morgan and the Bronze Ball went to Lavelle.

Goal No. 2 in the finals was scored by Rose Lavelle, at 24 the team’s up-and-coming star, after a solo run up the center of the field.

“She’s superstar, not even in the making, she’s straight-up superstar at this point,” Rapinoe said.

This is only the second time the 8th-ranked Netherlands team has appeared in the Women’s World Cup. In 2015, they were knocked out in the Round of 16 by Japan — which was, in turn, beaten by the U.S. in the 2015 final.

Mayor of New York City, Bill de Blasio announced that the team will be welcomed home with a ticker-tape parade down New York City’s “Canyon of Heroes” on Wednesday morning.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here