US Issues Travel Warning for Several Caribbean Countries

CNW Reporter

travel advisory haiti

The United States, which has the highest number of persons suffering or killed by the coronavirus (COVID-19) has warned its nationals against travelling to several Caribbean countries because of the COVID-19 situations in those countries.

On the updated list of travel advisories today, the United States issued a Level 4 “Do Not Travel” advisory for Cuba, The Bahamas, Guyana, Haiti, Dominican Republic and Belize.

The Bahamas earlier this week announced a two-week shutdown of the country, while the positive cases in Haiti and the Dominican Republic have been increasing on a daily basis.

- Advertisement -

As for Guyana, the state department noted that “travelers to Guyana may experience border closures, airport closures, travel prohibitions, stay at home orders, business closures, and other emergency conditions within Guyana due to COVID-19.”

The website also listed crime, listed to the election crisis which only recently came to an end, as another reason to avoid travel to the island. “Violent crime, such as armed robbery and murder, is common. Local police lack the resources to respond effectively to serious criminal incidents,” the website stated.

Crime was also the reason that Belize was listed as a Level 4 country. “Due to high crime, travelers are advised to exercise caution while traveling to the south side of Belize City. Local police lack the resources and training to respond effectively to serious criminal incidents. Most crimes remain unresolved and unprosecuted.”

Regarding travel to Cuba, it noted that: “Numerous U.S. Embassy Havana employees suffered demonstrable and sometimes debilitating injuries during their service in Havana. Affected individuals have exhibited a range of physical symptoms including ear complaints and hearing loss, dizziness, headaches, fatigue, cognitive issues, visual problems, and difficulty sleeping.” The state department said that while the investigate health conditions in the country, the U.S. Embassy in Havana is operating with reduced staffing.

The state department also listed several other Caribbean countries as Level 3, urging Americans to reconsider travel to such islands.

These islands include Jamaica, Dominica, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, Barbados, Antigua and Barbuda, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, British Virgin Islands, Turks and Caicos, and the Cayman Islands.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here