St. Kitts PM, Dr. Timothy Harris Leads Team Unity Back into Government

St. Kitts Prime Minister, Dr. Timothy Harris

BASSETERRE, St. Kitts – Prime Minister of St. Kitts and Nevis, Dr. Timothy Harris led his coalition Team Unity to a second consecutive victory in Friday’s general election, winning six of the seven seats declared to date.

The preliminary results showed that Harris of the People’s Labour Party (PLP) had comfortably won his Constituency Number 7 seat, polling 1,870 votes as compared to 607 for Leon Netta Nelson of the main opposition St. Kitts-Nevis Labour Party (SKNLP) while the Concerned Citizens Movement, (CCM) headed by Premier Mark Brantley, had won all three seats on the island of Nevis.

Brantley received 1,689 votes as against 1,155 for Dr. Kelvin Daley of the Nevis Reformation Party (NRP) to win Nevis Constituency Number 9 , while in his third attempt the CCM’s Alexis Jeffers has secured victory in Nevis Constituency Number 11 over the NRP’s Patrice Nisbett by a margin of 1,107 to 910.

- Advertisement -

In the other seat on Nevis, the CCM’s Eric Evelyn received 710 votes to 167 for Bjorn Hanley to win Nevis constituency Number 11.

The other victorious Team unity winners were Shawn Richards and Lindsay Grant of the People’s Action Movement, the third member of the Team Unity coalition.

Richards polled 1,296 votes as against 721 for SKNLP’s Kenny Douglas to win St. Christopher Number 5, while Grant won St. Christopher Number 4 by polling 1,284 as against 933 for Steve Wrensford. The lone independent candidate in the election could only muster 12 votes and lost his deposit.

Former Opposition Leader Dr. Denzil Richards is so far the only victor for the main extending his winning streak to eight in St. Christopher Number 6, by comfortably defatting the PLP’s Kevin Williams by a1,563 to 476..

There are 11 seats at stake in the elections and in the 2015 poll, Team unity won seven seats.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here