City of Lauderhill T20 International Night Cricket Finals

Trinidad & Tobago versus Guyana

 Trinidad & Tobago are in the 2016 Lauderhill T20 International Night Cricket Tournament finals after beating out last year’s finalist, India, by 103 runs. The India’ bowlers won the toss and were able to choose the field but were not able to restrict the Trinidadian’s batsmen who ended on 211 for 4 in the allotted 20 overs. The American Representative, Akeem Dobson laid the foundation with 82 runs from 53 balls including five fours and five sixes. Dobson shared a second wicket partnership of 75 runs with Ken Singh who blasted 39 runs from 25 balls with three fours and four sixes. Dodson also shared a 96 runs third wicket partnership with Nevin Stewart who smashed 54 runs from 33 balls laced with three fours and four sixes. Bowling for India, Renjith Chandran got 2 for 33 and Prasathi Kalvakuntia 1 for 25.

The Indians’ batmen wavered and fumbled for 108 in 14.3 overs against a well trained Trinidad & Tobago attack led by Stefan Babula, finishing with 3 for 14 from his allotted 4 fours. Bowling for Trinidad & Tobago, Babula received help from another USA national representative, Timothy Surajbally who grasped 3 for 26, while the veteran Ken Singh snared 2 for 24, Nevin Stewart 1 for 6 and Anil Khan 1 for 10.

The semi-final match against defending champion Jamaica and tournament number one spot Guyana, ended without a ball being bowl. Heavy showers made the Lauderhill Sports Park outfield unplayable leading match umpires and the match referee to declare the game abandoned with Guyana has advancing to the finals. Official tournament rules state that in the event the semi-final games are cancelled or cut, the team with the best NRR in preliminary rounds advance to the finals.

- Advertisement -

The finals match between Trinidad & Tobago and Guyana will be held on Saturday, May 21st starting at 6:30pm at the Lauderhill Sports Park.


Other Articles

Latest Articles

Skip to content