T&T defeats Jamaica in opening Lauderhill T20 tournament

T&T wins by 90 runs

Defending champions Team Jamaica were trounced by Trinidad and Tobago by 90 runs in the opening round of the 2016 City of Lauderhill T20 Int’l Night Cricket Tournament. Under the patronage of the City of Lauderhill Mayor, Richard Kaplan and Broward County Commissioner, Dale V.C. Holness, the long standing tradition got off to an exciting start last Saturday at the Lauderhill Sports Complex.

Winning the tossed and electing to bat first, the Trinidadians piled up 164 for 4 in the allotted 20 overs. USA national representative Timothy Surajbally had no mercy on his opponent’s bowlers, entertaining the spectators by smashing the Jamaican bowlers for a delightful 93 from 69 balls, including 6 fours and 6 sixes. Other useful contributions came from Ken Singh 15, Parvish Deonarinesingh 11, Neil Mungal 10 and Tariq Hosein 10. Bowling for Jamaica, Antonio Scott took one for 20, Keyonie Gayle 1 for 20, Garnet Campbell 1 for 25 and Neville Dawkins 1 for 29.

In reply, Jamaica were dismissed for 74 in 12 overs. Keyonie Gayle was the top scorer for Jamaica with 26 runs, including 2 fours, whilst USA national representative Steven Taylor scored 17 and Elvis Watson 15. Bowling for Trinidad and Tobago, game MVP Timothy Surajbally bagged 3 for 6 and Parvish Deonarinesingh 3 for 16. Ken Singh grabbed 2 for 44 and A. Singh 1 for 5.

The tournament continues this Saturday, starting 5 p.m. with Team Guyana facing off against Pakistan, and Team India battling it out with Combined Islands at 8 p.m.,  at the Lauderhill Sports Complex. The tournament will continue ever Saturday evening until the grand finale, set for May 21.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here