Bolt, Fraser-Pryce win Caribbean Sports Awards

The world’s fastest man Usain Bolt and his compatriot Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce won the Annual Caribbean Sports Awards, as Jamaicans claimed five of the six categories on offer.

Bolt won the Sportsman of the Year award ahead of Paralympic athlete Akeem Stewart of Trinidad and Tobago and O’Dayne Richards, also from the twin island republic.

Other contenders were Grenada’s Kirani James, Machel Cedenio and George Bovell of Trinidad and Tobago.

Fraser-Pryce edged out Cuba’s Yarisley Silva and Alia Atkinson of Jamaica. 

The other nominees for the Sportswoman of the Year award were Jamaicans Stafanie Taylor (Cricket) and Danielle Williams (Athletics); Shaunae Miller (Athletics) of the Bahamas; Akela Jones (Athletics) of Barbados; Denia Caballero (Athletics) of Cuba and Trinidad and Tobago track and field athletes Kelly-Ann Baptiste, Michelle Lee Ahye and Cleopatra Borel.

Jeffrey Gibson of the Bahamas and Danielle Williams of Jamaica were voted the top Rising Stars in the Caribbean.

Jamaican relay teams dominated the Team of the Year categories with the quartet of Nesta Carter, Asafa Powell, Nickel Ashmeade, Usain Bolt taking the Male Team of Year for the 4x100m gold at the IAAF World Championships in a world leading time of 37.36 seconds.

The Barbados Cricket team and the two-man beach volleyball team of Fabien Whitfield and Daneil Williams of Trinidad and Tobago were also nominated.

The 4x100m championship record team of Veronica Campbell-Brown, Natasha Morrison, Elaine Thompson and Fraser-Pryce copped the Female Team of the Year.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here